In 1988, a scholarship for women was established at Brevard Community College (BCC) in the name of Lucilla H. Kahn, longtime journalist and publisher of The Times. Her estate, which is now more than $200,000, endows the scholarship, and a committee from the Melbourne Branch of AAUW selects the recipients.

Applicants must have graduated from a South Brevard County school and have an Associate’s Degree from the Eastern Florida State College (formerly BCC) and be planning to attend a four year institution.